Top Ten Tuesday #38: Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where book lovers post their top ten books for various themes that are given.

May 6: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

Andrew’s Picks:

  1. A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness. Quite possibly my all-time favorite cover.
  2. The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien. There’s multiple ones that I wouldn’t mind, but I love this one.
  3. Any of The Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher (drawn by Christian McGrath). I absolutely love McGrath’s work.
  4. Hawkeye vol.1&2, by Matt Fraction. And any of the individual comic covers, too–I love this. Sometimes, simplicity is best.
  5. A bunch more. I mean, honestly–any Calvin and Hobbes cover, many graphic novel covers (particularly Batman ones)…

Caleb’s Picks:

  1. The original cover of This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I like how simple and elegant it is, and how vividly it conjures the era. Even in as worn condition as the edition seen in this cover I’d be happy, in fact, perhaps especially so; it has the respectability of age and the
  2. The original cover of Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie. My greatest inspiration as a detective novelist? Of course I’d want one of her covers on my wall, and I couldn’t think of picking any one other than this.
  3. This cover to The Princess Bride by William Goldman, illustrated by Michael Manomivibul, or for that matter, any of his illustrations; aren’t they incredible?
  4. The cover of Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson. I know, I know, Calvin and Hobbes again, I have nothing to say for myself. But if I was hanging covers on my wall, well, this would be one. Actually, it was pretty difficult to single out one cover, but I went with the first because it has the right blend of innocence, imagination and mischief. And with no subtitle, that’s a plus, too.
  5. The Holt McDougal cover of Frankenstein. Mary Shelley is a another great inspiration to me, and this is my favorite cover – as you may remember, I chose it back in October as one of the Top Ten Scariest Looking Book Covers. My comment then was: “I have never seen a cover that captures the Monster so vividly.”
  6. Bonus: Do these count?
Leave a Reply

